Please note the WV Engineering Law requires our agency to send notification at least 30 days prior to the expiration of your license, meaning no later than December 1st of odd numbered years for COAs and December 1st of even numbered years for PEs and Retired. Renewal notification cards are typically mailed in mid-late November and the WV State Treasurer's Office activates our online license renewal system at the same time. There will be instructions on the mailer as well as a live link posted here at that time. You will also receive a courtesy email notification to your record email address(es) last provided to our agency.
The current renewal season, and additional 30-day grace period, is closed. Any registrant (Professional Engineer or Retired Engineer) who did not renew their license is now "Lapsed". Any entity (company, firm, etc) that did not renew their Certificate of Authorization is now "Lapsed". Those who obtained a lapsed status receive a certified letter during February stating they failed to respond to the annual renewal and have automatically defaulted to "Lapsed" status. According to the WV Code, it is illegal for anyone with such status to practice or even offer to provide engineering services in West Virginia until they have been approved by the WV PE Board to return to "Active" status.
A registrant may bring an "Inactive" or "Lapsed" license to "Active" status by applying for reinstatement, obtaining all delinquent PDH's and paying the appropriate reinstatement fees. The number of PDH's required shall be a maximum of thirty (30) hours. A company may bring an "Inactive" or "Lapsed" COA to "Active" status by applying for reinstatement and paying the accelerated reinstatement fees.
For details on PE reinstatement for individuals, click here.
For details on COA reinstatement for companies, click here.
West Virginia State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers
300 Capitol Street - Suite 910, Charleston, West Virginia 25301
(304) 558-3554 | firstname.lastname@example.org